Moraine Park Student Awards Banquet recognizes outstanding students

by admin30. April 2007 19:00

The hard work and academic achievement of many students at Moraine Park Technical College were recognized during the College’s annual Student Awards Banquet on April 27 at The Camelot in Lomira.


Moraine Park presented its first Student of the Year Award to Jennifer Abraham of Plymouth, who will graduate from the Marketing – Business to Business program this month. First runner-up was Laura Eiteuner of Fond du Lac; second runner-up was James Olson of Hartford. Nominees must be graduating, exemplify the College’s core abilities and also excel in classroom and community involvement. The winner is selected by a committee of students, support staff, faculty and administration members.


The Wisconsin Technical College System District Student Ambassador Award was presented to Lori VanGorder of Fond du Lac, who is enrolled in the Legal Administrative Professional program. VanGorder will assume her role with the start of the 2007-08 academic year, taking over from 2006-07 Student Ambassador Jan Chilson.


Technical Achievement Awards were presented to five students. To receive this award, recipients must be enrolled in a one-year technical diploma program and have maintained a 3.25 GPA. They are judged on classroom participation and other contributions and characteristics that exemplify an outstanding student. Recipients were Dawn Juers, Campbellsport; Kathy Dittmann and Amy Bartholomew, both of Beaver Dam; Eileen Sorgent, Waupun; and Jane Packard, Iron Ridge.


The Meritorious Service Award is granted to students who have served the College through their leadership and participation in co-curricular activities such as student clubs, student government or other volunteer opportunities. Eligible students must maintain a 2.5 GPA. Recipients include Kim Albrecht and Jessica Percola, both of Waupun; Wardell Ashford, Josh Bliefnick, Curt Braatz, Bernard Brady, Emily Hettwer, Katie Holzman, Casey Kresal, Amy Lapine, Tammy Schinker, Kathleen Schneider, Laurie Schneider, Christal Shipp and Lori VanGorder, all of Fond du Lac; J.J. Blosmore, Hartland; Kris Bokelberg, Sussex; Angie Brown, Becky Ninmann and Cathie Roegner, all of West Bend; Kelly Brumley, Randolph; Steve Hudack, Lori Klebs, Elizabeth Kraft, John Nelson, Kim Searl, Shannon Stefczak, all of North Fond du Lac; Stephanie Larson and Leslie Troedel, both of Slinger; Joe Lazaris and Dustin Moravec, both of Mayville; Nick Marchant, Kewaskum; Susan Marley, Plymouth; Mike Mathu, Luxemburg; Sherry McGlothin, Hubertus; Raelene Nauer, Nichole Storms, Becky Thompson and Rachel Van Egmond, all of Beaver Dam; James Olson, Hartford; Duane Porter, Michelle Steffen and Tony Thorn, all of Campbellsport; Ashley Preder, Kiel; Ann Radtke, Cascade; LeRoy Samuelson, Columbus; Jason Schultz, Colgate; Jon Thill, Lomira; Owen Vandekolh, Brandon; and Scott Wolfgram, Watertown.


Thirty-five Moraine Park students were named to Who’s Who Among Students in American Junior Colleges. Who's Who Among Students is one of the most highly regarded and long-standing honors programs in the nation. Students receive national recognition for achieving at least a 3.5 GPA as well as participating and showing leadership in academic and extracurricular activities.


Student government leadership recognition included Jasmine Duarte of Beaver Dam, the Beaver Dam campus Student Senate president and District Student Government president; Laurie Schneider of Fond du Lac, the Fond du Lac campus Student Senate president; West Bend campus Student Senate presidents Stephanie Larson of Slinger (first semester) and Becky Ninmann of West Bend (second semester); Duane Porter of Campbellsport, Wisconsin Student Government (WSG) lieutenant governor who was recently named WSG president; and WSG governors Susan Marley of Plymouth (first semester) and Raelene Nauer of Beaver Dam (second semester).


Also recognized at the banquet were the 94 students who were inducted into the Phi Theta Kappa international honor society in April; 14 students who received scholarships from the Moraine Park Association of Career and Technical Education; and 13 students who served as peer tutors/notetakers for their fellow students.


For more information about Moraine Park, visit