Moraine Park employees win awards at state level

by admin18. March 2008 19:00

The Wisconsin Association for Career & Technical Education (WACTE) 72nd Annual Conference proved to be a winning event for Moraine Park Technical College. 


Held in Stevens Point Feb. 28-29, the WACTE conference hosted the state awards program for the Wisconsin Technical College System. Moraine Park had winners in three professional excellence categories: Julie Lotto for Specialty Services, Pat Olson for Administrator, and Mary Schneider for Full-Time Teacher. Also nominated in that category from Moraine Park were Julie Dilling, New Teacher, and Brenda Nickel, Associate Member. All five had won on the Moraine Park Association for Career & Technical Education (MPACTE) level earlier in February.


 The College also brought home the Local of the Year Award; the C.L. Greiber Award of Merit for Business & Industry, recognizing Moraine Park’s partnership with Apache Stainless Equipment Corp.; and the C.L. Greiber Individual Award of Merit, awarded to Jonathan August for his outstanding dedication to Moraine Park. Kathy VanDemark, a counselor at the College’s West Bend campus, received the George P. Hambrecht Award for 25 years of service in career and technical education. With the exception of the Local of the Year Award, all of the awards were presented at both the MPACTE and WACTE levels.


“These awards are very well-deserved and are indicative of the quality of Moraine Park's faculty and staff, as well as the value of our business partnerships,” said Dr. Gayle Hytrek, Moraine Park president.


The Moraine Park Association for Career and Technical Education comprises 110 members, bringing together support staff, faculty and administration. MPACTE is the local chapter of the WACTE, which unites individuals involved in career and technical education, provides professional development, encourages leadership in the professional arena, and promotes innovative change to enhance lifelong learning.