Moraine Park honors Phi Theta Kappa inductees

by admin13. April 2008 19:00

More than 70 Moraine Park Technical College students were inducted into Beta Mu Kappa, Moraine Park’s chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, an international honor society.


Fifty-five students participated in the April 10 ceremony, held at Moraine Park’s Fond du Lac Campus, which honored 75 Moraine Park students who achieved a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5 in an associate of applied science degree program. The inductees also completed a minimum of 12 associate degree credits as well as the steps to become Phi Theta Kappa members, and must continue to maintain a GPA of at least 3.5.


“Phi Theta Kappa induction recognizes the academic accomplishments of our associate of applied science degree students,” said Amanda Hruska, Moraine Park registrar and Beta Mu Kappa advisor.


Inductees, along with more than 135 family members and friends, were welcomed by Hruska. Moraine Park President Gayle Hytrek provided opening remarks to those assembled. Also participating in the ceremony were Dan Ensalaco, vice president of academics and economic development; Richard Barnhouse, dean of students; Roberta Laine, dean of general education; Craig Finley, special services associate; and several current chapter members including Carrie Pierquet, Eileen Rottscholl, Christal Shipp and Kelly Wondra. Jill Stiemsma, sociology instructor, provided the musical entertainment and a reception concluded the evening.


This year’s inductees include Erika Aamodt, Thomas Badzinzki Jr., Julie Justman, Samantha Kraft and Ludmila Krier, all of West Bend; Christoper Aspenson, Chelsea Burgert, Lyle Dorn, Diane Dudley, Melissa Fechter, Amanda Gindt, Keri Nitschke, Sharon Ponce, Colleen Price, Ludeen Rice, Candace Roberts, Jamie Schumacher, Alicia Stanger, Valerie Syrjamaki, Matthew Wise and Jennifer Ziegler, Fond du Lac; Lisa Barczykowski, Columbus; Nichole Bengtson and Debra TerBeest, Markesan; Gayle Bigsby and Eric Wagner, North Fond du Lac; Melissa Bille, Jennifer Bomkamp, Elizabeth Busch, Sarah Haddy, Amanda Pluim and Cathy Vande Berg, Waupun; Dustin Bittner, Kim Martel and Michael White, Fox Lake; Jodi Boeckman, Chilton; Nicholas Brewer and Zachary Wajerski, Horicon; Peggy D’Amato, Diane Margelowsky, Christin McHugh and Jennifer Roemer, Hartford; Shelly Darmody and Phillip Murphy, Campbellsport; Marc Daverveld, Appleton; Tracy Derksen, Valerie Hare and Kathleen Wolter, Lomira; Samantha Dickey, Pickett; Jennifer Erickson, Amanda Fowler, Lisa Rogers and Beverly Sonnkalb, Ripon; Rita Grasse-Gustafson, Saukville; Gabrielle Petersen, Cottage Grove; Marabeth Hoffman, Neshkoro; Joyce Mathieu Holder and Krystal Lindner, Sheboygan Falls; Annmarie Johnson, Eden; Amy Jones and Kayla Sterr, Malone; James Krutilla, Sheboygan; Michele Kujawski, Brownsville; Tamara Kunesh and Mitchell Vis, Rosendale; Christopher Lewandowski, Hubertus; Michele Merten, St. Cloud; Lizabeth Miller, Plymouth; Jennifer Moser, Hubertus; Renee Raquet, Kiel; Jean Rynes, Milwaukee; Sarah Swanke, Princeton; Sandra Waranius, Fredonia; Laura Winter, Beaver Dam; and Jessica Witthuhn, Oshkosh.


Established in 1918, Phi Theta Kappa recognizes and encourages the academic achievement of two-year college students. It currently has more than two million members and 1,200 chapters located in all 50 states, U.S. territories, British Virgin Islands, Canada, Germany, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, United Arab Emirates and Palau. The American Association of Community Colleges recognizes Phi Theta Kappa as the official honor society for two-year colleges.