Moraine Park Student Awards Banquet recognizes outstanding students

by admin7. May 2008 19:00

The hard work and academic achievement of many students at Moraine Park Technical College were recognized during the College’s annual Student Awards Banquet on May 2 at The Golf Club at Camelot in Lomira.


The Wisconsin Technical College System District Student Ambassador Award was presented to Shelly Puckhaber of West Bend, who is enrolled in the Marketing program. Puckhaber will assume her role with the start of the 2008-09 academic year, taking over for 2007-08 Student Ambassador Lori VanGorder.


Moraine Park presented its second Student of the Year Award to Elizabeth (Beth) Kaiser of Van Dyne, who will graduate from the Criminal Justice – Corrections program this month. First runner-up was Lyle Dorn of Fond du Lac. A total of eight students were nominated. Nominees must be graduating, exemplify the College’s core abilities and also excel in classroom and community involvement. The winner is selected by a committee of students, support staff, faculty and administration members. 


Technical Achievement Awards were presented to nine students. To receive this award, recipients must be enrolled in a one-year technical diploma program and have maintained a 3.25 GPA. They are judged on classroom participation and other contributions and characteristics that exemplify an outstanding student. Recipients were John Bundy, Stevens Point; Greg Clemens and Helen Neal, West Bend; Nathan Heck and Eric Johnson, Beaver Dam; Gina Sammataro Bolstad, Lomira; Christine Schmitt, Lowell; Debra Siewert, Randolph; and Sarah Theander, Fox Lake.


The Meritorious Service Award is granted to students who have served the College through their leadership and participation in co-curricular activities such as student clubs, student government or other volunteer opportunities. Eligible students must maintain a 2.5 GPA. Recipients include Jill Aimone, Amanda Herriges and Kelly Spang, Kewaskum; Wardell Ashford, Josh Bliefnick, Curt Braatz, Lyle Dorn, Amanda Ennis, Vernon Farley, Gregory Gross, Stacy Hammack, Mary Hitselberger, Amy Lapine, Sherry Rickmeier, Candace Roberts, Andrew Rodriguez, Ethan Schlottke, Wanda Schmit, Laurie Schneider and Lori VanGorder, Fond du Lac; Diamond Avalos, Shannon Desjarlais-Caine, Dean Dunday, Lacey Frieman, Raelene Nauer, Jessica Shannon, John Stanton, Ashley TeBeest and Lindsay Wietzke, Beaver Dam; Becky Billington, Mayville; Chris Bolstad and Randy Rush, Lomira; Joe Calliari, Duane Porter, and Michelle Steffen, Campbellsport; Beth Denny and Libby Kraft; North Fond du Lac; Sara Doege, Neosho; Tim Drewiske, De Pere; Dori Easterson, Omro; Nancy Folkedahl, Emily Hettwer, Charity Krawzik, Becky Ninmann, Joe Remillard, Cathie Roegner, Jessica Rust and Jeremy Sarnowski, West Bend; Maria Guenther, Horicon; Elizabeth Kaiser, Van Dyne; Stephanie Kakatsch, Manitowoc; Mike Kiehnau, St. Cloud; Becky Klink and Julie McAleavey, Rubicon; Justin Kohlhagen, Oostburg; Ron Kohlmann, Waldo; Steve Lang, Markesan; Kim Lindemann, Jackson; Kayla Navis, Joey Pausma and Rene VanDeList, Waupun; Josh Persik, Hubertus; Ann Radtke, Cascade; Jennifer Roemer, Hartford; Corrine Seidel, Leslie Troedel and Sharon Weimer, Slinger; Jessica Serwe, Eden; Mary Sharp, Adell; Alicia Streiber, New Holstein; and Ramona Trudeau, Sheboygan.


Twenty-seven Moraine Park students were named to Who’s Who Among Students in American Junior Colleges. Who's Who Among Students is one of the most highly regarded and long-standing honors programs in the nation. Students receive national recognition for achieving at least a 3.5 GPA as well as participating and showing leadership in academic and extracurricular activities.


Student government leadership recognition included Raelene Nauer of Beaver Dam, Beaver Dam campus Student Senate president; Josh Bliefnick of Fond du Lac, Fond du Lac campus Student Senate president; Becky Ninmann of West Bend, West Bend campus Student Senate president; Laurie Schneider and Raelene Nauer, District Student Government presidents; Diamond Avalos of Beaver Dam, Wisconsin Student Government (WSG) governor and WSG president; and Joe Calliari of Campbellsport, WSG lieutenant governor.


Also recognized at the banquet were the 75 students who were inducted into the Phi Theta Kappa international honor society in April; 11 students who received scholarships from the Moraine Park Association of Career and Technical Education and the Moraine Park Federation of Teachers; and 19 students who served as peer tutors/notetakers for their fellow students.


For more information about Moraine Park, visit