Moraine Park Student Awards Banquet recognizes outstanding students

by admin4. May 2009 19:00

The hard work and academic achievement of many students at Moraine Park Technical College were recognized during the College’s annual Student Awards Banquet on May 1 at The Golf Club at Camelot in Lomira.


The Wisconsin Technical College System District Student Ambassador Award was presented to Diane Schacht of Kewaskum, who is enrolled in the Leadership Development program. Schacht will assume her role with the start of the 2009-10 academic year, taking over for 2008-09 Student Ambassador Shelly Puckhaber.


Moraine Park presented its third Student of the Year Award to Lisa Gramoll of Newburg, who will graduate from the Radiography program this month. Her outstanding enthusiasm and involvement in many aspects of her education led to her being chosen. A total of eight students were nominated. Nominees must be graduating, exemplify the College’s core abilities and also excel in classroom and community involvement. The winner is selected by a committee of students, support staff, faculty and administration members. 


Technical Achievement Awards were presented to four students. To receive this award, recipients must be enrolled in a one-year technical diploma program and have maintained a 3.25 GPA. They are judged on classroom participation and other contributions and characteristics that exemplify an outstanding student. Recipients were Kristen Aumann of Hustisford, Joshua Berger of Lyndon Station, Matthew Chern of Campbellsport and Tammy Koehler of West Bend.


The Meritorious Service Award is granted to students who have served the College through their leadership and participation in co-curricular activities such as student clubs, student government or other volunteer opportunities. Eligible students must maintain a 2.5 GPA. Recipients include Diamond Avalos, Kham Banhdith, Marc Ciske, Dean Dunday, Lacey Freimann and Cody Mattes of Beaver Dam; Ana Bamesberger, Greta Bassler, Graham Brunet, Nicole Furrer, Julie Gillen, Anna Hanson, Josh Lauersdorf, Kara Lemense, Candice Marshall, Dion Meux, Jennifer Mickelson, Robert Phillips, Colleen Price, Wanda Schmidt, Jillian Schneider, Katie Smart, Valerie Syrjamaki and Daniel Weber of Fond du Lac; Theresa Bangart of Malone; Christopher Bolstad and Maureen Flagg of Lomira; Kelly Brown of Randolph; Michael Butz, Angel Kraft, Cathie Roegner, Jessica Rust, Carmen Schilter, Amanda Topel and Michael Wetzel of West Bend; Joe Calliari, Josh Pelischek and Michelle Steffen of Campbellsport; Dawn Carlson of Slinger; Elizabeth Denny, Patricia O’Brien and Eric Wagner of North Fond du Lac; Maria Guenther of Horicon; Stephanie Kakatsch of Manitowoc; Tiffany Knoespel of Mt. Calvary; Justin Kohlhagen of Oostburg; Steve Lang of Markesan; Kayla Navis of Oshkosh; Amanda Pluim and Rene VanDeList of Waupun; Shelly Puckhaber of Germantown; Michael Shattuck of Ripon; Kelly Spang of Kewaskum; Alicia Streiber of New Holstein; and Rachel Underwood of Hartford.


Twenty-five Moraine Park students were named to Who’s Who Among Students in American Junior Colleges. Who's Who Among Students is one of the most highly regarded and long-standing honors programs in the nation. Students receive national recognition for achieving at least a 3.5 GPA as well as participating and showing leadership in academic and extracurricular activities.


Student government leadership recognition included Diamond Avalos of Beaver Dam and Steve Lang of Markesan, Beaver Dam campus Student Senate presidents; Elizabeth Denny and Eric Wagner, both of North Fond du Lac, Fond du Lac campus Student Senate presidents; Michelle Steffen of Campbellsport, West Bend campus Student Senate president; Michael Shattuck of Ripon, District Student Government (DSG) president; Joe Calliari of Campbellsport, Wisconsin Student Government (WSG) governor, and Angel Kraft of West Bend, WSG lieutenant governor.


Also recognized at the banquet were the 73 students who were inducted into the Phi Theta Kappa international honor society in April; 11 students who received scholarships from the Moraine Park Association of Career and Technical Education and the Moraine Park Federation of Teachers; 14 students who served as peer tutors/notetakers for their fellow students; and 22 students who participated in international education.


For more information about Moraine Park, visit