Moraine Park honors Phi Theta Kappa inductees

by admin14. April 2010 19:00

During an April 13 ceremony, Moraine Park Technical College students were inducted into Beta Mu Kappa, Moraine Park’s chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, an international honor society.


To be eligible, the students achieved and maintain a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5 in an associate of applied science degree program. The inductees also completed a minimum of 12 associate degree credits, as well as the steps to become Phi Theta Kappa members.


“Phi Theta Kappa induction recognizes the academic accomplishments of our associate of applied science degree students,” said Amanda Hruska, Moraine Park registrar and Beta Mu Kappa co-advisor.


Along with more than 145 of their family members and friends, 62 of this year’s 119 inductees participated in the ceremony at Moraine Park’s Fond du Lac campus. Moraine Park President Gayle Hytrek provided opening remarks to those assembled. Also participating in the ceremony were Dan Ensalaco, vice president of academics and economic development; Beth Raffaelli, vice president of enrollment management, Karen Zuehlke, one-stop partner; Sandra Huenink, dean of basic education; and several current chapter members including Katherine Gindt and Michele Merten. Deborah Guy, a Fond du Lac area harpist, provided the musical entertainment and a reception concluded the evening.


This year’s inductees include Tami Anderson, Karen Heberer, Donna Hesprich, Jean Ott (DeBano) and Diane Schacht of Kewaskum; Heydy Baca, Ana Barnesberger, Christina Cronin, Denise Day, Amy Goebel, Sandra Hankwitz, Derik Henken, Barbara Hinn, Laura Holevatz, Rachel Horsch, Tammi Kalebic, David Kick, Sara Kozisek, James Leonhard, Candice Marshall, Kari Meyer, Emily Micke, Colleen Mielkes, Lisa Paolasinis, Sarah Steffek, Jeff Testroete, Mary Wadusky, Casey Wix and Tierra Yonker of Fond du Lac; Dennis Bangart and Timothy Bruns of North Fond du Lac; Kham Banhdith, Aaron Horton, Mandy Kaminski, John Kazmarek, Barbara Lauth, Megan Morrissey and Lisa Narr of Beaver Dam; Nick Bates, Jennifer Cunningham, Barb Villeneuve, Brian Zahrobsky and Merrill Zimdahl of Campbellsport; Sharon Bauch and Casey Rinas of Theresa; Sheila Becker, Amy Burg, Michele Leininger and Laurel Red Cloud of Hartford; Gary Bender of Brandon; Andrea Berndt, Jason Binkley, Laura Braunschweig, Joseph Brooks, Patricia Dye, Laura Ernisse, Ben Herther, Joanna Koenig, Jennifer Kritz, Joyce Lueneburg, Jason Otto, Joseph Paskiewicz, Carmen Schilter, Gloria Strnad, Travis Tackes, Amanda Topel, Patricia Troedel and Brock Wojtalewicz of West Bend; Shawn Brandt, Shelley Notz, Yvette Parnitzke, Mark Prucha, James Semsch and Kurt Titel of Sheboygan; Jason Busalacchi, Jennifer Ellis, Miranda Gentz and Les Smith of Mayville; Shannon Corbeil of Cascade; Carol Cortinaz and Brittney Mauk of Plymouth; Gregory Darga of Richfield; Paul Eilbes of Cedarburg; Jason Fenske and Shannon Lee of Horicon; Katrina Gengler and Roberta Hackbarth of Grafton; Nicole Giannopoulos of Germantown; Paul Guell of Waupun; Jaclyn Hebein and James Schoeder of Port Washington; Lori Ipsen of Rosendale; Angela Jensson of Cambria; Kathryn Johnson and Steven Kaszynski of Oshkosh; Olivia Krier and Duane Kuehl of Belgium; Connie Krueger of Randolph; Destin Kuehl, Desiree Kuehl and Jeanne Reseburg of Random Lake; John Lippold of Jackson; Heidi Martin of Oakfield; Ashley Merten of St. Cloud; Edie Oehler and Gabrielle Vis of Fredonia; Stephanie Priebe, Ben Rothe, Michael Shattuck, Amanda Stemper and Amanda Sweeney of Ripon; Amanda Pritchard-Hamer of Markesan; Kim Rauwerdink of Cedar Grove; Pam Rupert of Van Dyne; Tim Sabish of Kiel; Jennifer Schill of Glenbeulah; Jeff Schmidt of Malone; Kenneth Stauss II of Slinger; and Ryan Witthoft of Roseville, Minn.


The Beta Mu Kappa chapter is sponsoring a food drive to benefit local food pantries. Community members who attend the Moraine Park commencement on Saturday, May 22, are invited to bring nonperishable food items to the table staffed by chapter members, located near the entrance to the Fond du Lac High School Fieldhouse.


Established in 1918, Phi Theta Kappa recognizes and encourages the academic achievement of two-year college students. It currently has more than two million members and 1,200 chapters located in all 50 states, U.S. territories, British Virgin Islands, Canada, Germany, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, United Arab Emirates and Palau. The American Association of Community Colleges recognizes Phi Theta Kappa as the official honor society for two-year colleges.