Moraine Park Student Awards Banquet recognizes outstanding students

by admin9. May 2010 19:00

The hard work and academic achievement of many students at Moraine Park Technical College were recognized during the College’s annual Student Awards Banquet held recently at The Golf Club at Camelot in Lomira.


The Wisconsin Technical College System District Student Ambassador Award was presented to Paul Eilbes of Cedarburg, who is enrolled in the Accounting program. He will assume his role with the start of the 2010-11 academic year, taking over for 2009-10 Student Ambassador Diane Schacht.


Moraine Park honored this year's Student of the Year (left), Amy Goebel of Fond du Lac, and the 2010-11 Student Ambassador, Paul Eilbes of Cedarburg, during the 2010 Student Awards Banquet. Shown with the students is Dr. Gayle Hytrek, Moraine Park president.

Moraine Park presented its fifth Student of the Year Award to Amy Goebel of Fond du Lac, who will graduate from the Marketing program this month. Her outstanding enthusiasm and involvement in many aspects of her education led to her being chosen. A total of six students were nominated. Nominees must be graduating, exemplify the College’s core abilities and also excel in classroom and community involvement. The winner is selected by a committee of students, support staff, faculty and administration members. 


Technical Achievement Awards were presented to six students. To receive this award, recipients must be enrolled in a one-year technical diploma program and have maintained a 3.25 GPA. They are judged on classroom participation and other contributions and characteristics that exemplify an outstanding student. Recipients were Randy Burton of Tomah, Cody Hamin of Nekoosa, Denise Lanham of Germantown, Mary Polzean of Campbellsport, Connie Steinke of Fond du Lac and Tammy Voeks of Kewaskum.


The Meritorious Service Award is granted to students who have served the College through their leadership and participation in co-curricular activities such as student clubs, student government or other volunteer opportunities. Eligible students must maintain a 2.5 GPA. This year’s 71 recipients include Brittany Anderson of Malone; Ana Bamesberger, Robert Benson, Jacob Bohlman, Julie Gillen, Mike Gray, Sandy Hankwitz, Kirk Henry, Paula Johnson, Sherry Lapene, Josh Lauersdorf, Kara Lemense, Candice Marshall, Dion Meux, Julie Meyer, Lee Olig, Robert Phillips, Kelli Romano, Christina Salinas and Nathan Schwartz of Fond du Lac; Kham Banhdith, Emily Carlson, Dean Dunday, Tammy Flick, Marc Griffin, Chris Noyce, Robin Weitz and Brad Welsch of Beaver Dam; Joe Boyce, Jason Busalacchi, Jessie Girard, Carmen Schilter, Amanda Topel and Andy Vetrone of West Bend; Laura Cameron of Waupun; Jenny Clausen and Peter Neverman of Hustisford; Jessica DeLaurier of Cedarburg; Mandie Finley, Josh Preissner and Karin Thacker of Ripon; Lydia Flood of Oakfield; Karen Heberer, Diane Piwoni, Diane Schacht and Tammy Voeks of Kewaskum; Robert Hill of Watertown; Dan Hofmeister of Nekoosa; Trevor Hron of North Fond du Lac; Samantha Kapitanski of Wautoma; Jenny Knaub of Fredonia; Tiffany Knoespel of Mt. Calvary; Jill Kollmann of Van Dyne; Connie Krueger of Randolph; Beth Landrath of Eden; Steve Lang of Markesan; Angela Lindgren of Hartford; William Milbrot of Mayville; Candace Mueller and Rhonda Steiner of Oshkosh; Emily Noon of Juneau; Monty Peterson of Burnett; Cathie Roegner of West Bend; Doug Schmitz of St. Cloud; Jim Schoeder of Port Washington; Michelle Steffen of Campbellsport; Andrea Steger of Theresa; Steve Varisco of Jackson; Eric Wagner of Van Dyne; and Dan Weber of Pewaukee.


Twenty-five Moraine Park students were named to Who’s Who Among Students in American Junior Colleges. Who's Who Among Students is one of the most highly regarded and long-standing honors programs in the nation. Students receive national recognition for achieving at least a 3.5 GPA as well as participating and showing leadership in academic and extracurricular activities.


Student government leadership recognition included Steve Lang of Markesan, Beaver Dam campus Student Senate president and District Student Government president; Eric Wagner of Van Dyne, Fond du Lac campus Student Senate president; Jessica DeLaurier of Cedarburg and Andy Vetrone of West Bend, West Bend campus Student Senate presidents; and Amanda Topel of West Bend, Wisconsin Student Government (WSG) governor, and Dion Meux of Fond du Lac, WSG lieutenant governor.


Shown from left are Rich Barnhouse, dean of students; Dan Ensalaco, vice president of academic affairs; Andy Vetrone, West Bend campus Student Senate president; Amanda Topel, Wisconsin Student Government (WSG) governor; Steve Lang, Beaver Dam campus Student Senate president and District Student Government president; Eric Wagner, Fond du Lac campus Student Senate president; Dion Meux, WSG lieutenant governor; and Dr. Gayle Hytrek, Moraine Park president.

Also recognized at the banquet were the 119 students who were inducted into the Phi Theta Kappa international honor society in April; 13 students who received scholarships from the Moraine Park Association of Career and Technical Education and the Moraine Park Federation of Teachers; 15 students who served as peer tutors/notetakers for their fellow students; and nine students who participated in international education.


For more information about Moraine Park, visit