Moraine Park honors students at annual Awards Banquet

by dritger16. May 2014 11:25

Moraine Park honors students at annual awards banquet

The hard work and academic achievement of nearly 300 Moraine Park Technical College students was recognized during the College’s annual Student Awards Banquet held May 9 at The Golf Club at Camelot in Lomira. 

Lisa Karst, Moraine Park’s 2014 Distinguished Alumnus Award recipient began the program by sharing her experiences as both a student and alumnus. Karst, of Burnett, is the assistant vice president/regional operations leader at National Exchange Bank & Trust in Beaver Dam. “I have no doubt my continued education opened the door to additional opportunities and played a role in my promotions,” said Karst, who challenged the students to be driven, stay involved and to give back or pay it forward. “It also allowed me to build friendships and a network that will last a lifetime.”  

The 2014-15 District Student Ambassador Award was presented to Kim Dickinson of Beaver Dam. Dickinson is enrolled in Moraine Park’s Business Management and Supervision program. She will assume her Ambassador role in fall, taking over for 2013-14 Student Ambassador Mihai Schnell Harrison of Ripon. 

Moraine Park presented the Student of the Year Award to nursing student E. Prakash Nair of West Bend for exemplifying the College’s core abilities, and excelling both in and outside of the classroom.  Nair thanked his family, fellow students and Moraine Park staff and instructors for helping him on his educational journey. “I can still remember my son sitting on my lap while I was studying and teach him his first nursing word: stethoscope,” said Nair, who graduates in May. 

Technical Achievement Awards were presented to 42 students. To receive this award, recipients must be enrolled in a one-year technical diploma program and have maintained a 3.25 GPA. They are judged on classroom participation and other contributions and characteristics that exemplify an outstanding student. Recipients were:  Garett Berndt of Adell; Broderick Hanson, Cody Sekel of Beaver Dam; Mitchell Moldenhauer of Berlin; Craig Hampton, Felicia Van Houten of Burnett; Andy Luedtke, Hannah Lange, Jeff Bong, Jessica Parsons of Campbellsport; Joe Barelmann of Cedarburg; Abigail Schaefer, Amanda Reinke, Michael Nischke, Amy Batura, Caleb Poss, Donald Wallender, Emma Endejan, Jordan Guelig, Kyle Buechel, Michael Schmid, Nicholas Messenger of Fond du Lac; Cody Ermer, Tyler Strupp of Hartford; Tracy Wehrmann of Howards Grove; Dustin Weiss of Iron Ridge; Justin Greif of Jackson; Isaac Theis, Kelsie Hennig, Zach Thornton of Kewaskum; Steven Smith of Kiel; Justin Broesch of Menomonee Falls; Danielle Dolinac of North Fond du Lac; Michelle Johnson of Ripon; Mason Pluim of Waupun; Aaron Hilgendorf, Brad Bond, DeWayne Sexton, Dylan Bresson, Jacob Wunderlich, Kenneth Smith, Nick Schmitt of West Bend.

The Meritorious Service Award is granted to students who have served the College through their leadership and participation in co-curricular activities such as student clubs, student government or other volunteer opportunities. This year’s 111 recipients include: Zach Kirchner, Garett Berndt of Adell; Dawn Woebbeking, Tyler Neely, Richard Goetsch of Allenton; Amanda Lee, Amy Surprise, Aubri Schmitt, Jaime Miller, Laine Meyer, Melinda Garczynski, Patrick Beilfuss, Cody Sekel, Dolores Hager, Garret Noyons, Robert Krist, Sharon Vlach of Beaver Dam; Mitchell Moldenhauer of Berlin; Eric Schemmel of Burlington; Craig Hampton, Kayla Ebert of Burnett; Jessica Henning, Jessica Parsons, Jordan Hanson, Karen Dauterman of Campbellsport; Austin Leider of Cedar Grove; Kyle Noltner of Cross Plains; Donald Wallender, Eric Quackenboss, Heather Pufahl, William Durfee, Amy Batura, Candace Mendoza, Christine Koenig, Francis Heredia, Francisco Nunez, Joseph Clark, Kia Goncalo, Lauren Duwell, Moriah Parrish, Nicholas Messenger of Fond du Lac; Kristy Sparacio of Fox Lake; Kevin Boudwine of Germantown; Andrew Michaels of Glenbeulah; Kari Willfahrt of Green Bay; Peg Bowser of Hartford; Cassie Lynn, Logan Wagner, Marissa DuQuette, Nate Christenson, Tyler Strupp, Bruce Wiese of Horicon; Danyelle Young of Hubertus; Dan Mose of Iron Ridge; Justin Greif of Jackson; Nicholas Goeman, Nikki Ricco, Sherry Drake of Juneau, Isaac Theis, Jake Forbes, Bonnie Weiss, Kelsie Hennig, Lisa Landry of Kewaskum; Steven Smith Kiel, Kari-Jo Koprek, Shawn Grimes of Lowell; Sarah Frederick of Markesan; Josh Livingston, Justin Gubin, William Milbrot of Mayville; Maddie Greco of Menomonee Falls; Thomas Bell of Mt. Horeb, Dalton Linzmeier of Nekoosa; Danielle Dolinac of North Fond du Lac; Marki Henderson of Omro; Jeremy Burggraf, Marion Scott of Oshkosh; Tracey Meredith of Plymouth, Jeremy Pulvermacher of Princeton; Hannah Miller of Randolph; Larissa Schumann, Leanne Gensch, Melissa Kuntz of Reeseville; Michelle Johnson, Jessica Purath, Samantha Beck, of Ripon; Marie Radschlag of Rubicon; Tyler Reynolds of Shabbona; Andrea Stover of Sheboygan, Trevor Reed of Watertown; Matt Pearce, Jennifer Sorenson of Waupun; Aaron Hilgendorf, Aaron Rusch, Ashley Dierberger, Brad Bond, Dylan Bresson, Jana Bruger, John Pocian, Jon Fisher, Karissa Laatsch, Krysta Meyer, Laura Hein, Logan Lang, Trevor Magnowski, DeWayne Sexton, E. Prakash Nair, Jeremy Foley, Kenneth Smith, Naomi Gosse of West Bend; Erik Hefner of Wilton.

Eighteen Moraine Park students received the Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities & Colleges Award. Who's Who Among Students is one of the most highly regarded and long-standing honors programs in the nation. Students receive national recognition for achieving at least a 3.25 GPA as well as participating and showing leadership in academic and extracurricular activities. Those students include: Kirsten Lynch of Beaver Dam; Brittany Stark, Kerry Grunkowski, Lauren Duwell, Paige Frombach, Sandra Odekirk of Fond du Lac; Kristy Sparacio of Fox Lake; Ingrid Moder of Hustisford; Sherry Drake of Juneau; Steven Smith of Kiel; Jessica Krieger of Mayville; Leanne Gensch, of Reeseville; Katrina Switzler of Rosendale; Kaitlyn Zinecker of Wautoma; April Neumann, E. Prakash Nair, Stacey Scheinpflug, Stephen Orr of West Bend

Student government leadership recognition included Dan Mose, Beaver Dam Student Senate president; Joseph Clark, Fond du Lac Student Senate president; Bonnie Weiss, West Bend Student Senate president; Hannah Miller, District Student Government president; Francisco Nunez, Wisconsin Student Government lt. governor; and William Milbrot, Wisconsin Student Government governor. 

Also recognized at the banquet were the more than 100 students who were inducted into the Phi Theta Kappa international honor society on April 30; and five students who received Community Stewardship, Activist and Leadership Award scholarships from the Moraine Park Federation of Teachers.

For more information about Moraine Park, visit