MPTC Board Welcomes Two New Members

MPTC District Board

Rob Johnson of West Bend and Katharine Schlieve of Waupun were welcomed as the newest members of the Moraine Park Technical College District Board on July 13. Both Johnson and Schlieve will serve as additional member representatives, with terms expiring in June 2023.

Johnson serves as the CEO of Kettle Moraine YMCA, and through his career experience, has seen first-hand the value of technical education.

“Moraine Park plays a vital role for our youth looking to continue and expand their learning and seasoned professionals looking to refine and develop new skills applicable to the ever-changing job market,” Johnson said. “Our current economic conditions have put incredible pressure on employers like the Kettle Moraine YMCA, and having Moraine Park Technical College as a partner is critical to our success and the success of other businesses in our region.”

Johnson has been an active part of the West Bend community for many years.  He currently serves as a non-profit representative for West Bend Community and as a board member for the Historic West Bend Theatre. He previously served as the president of United Way for Washington and Dodge Counties. Additionally, he served as president for the Noon Kiwanis Clubs in both Beaver Dam and West Bend.

“I have had the pleasure of collaborating with Moraine Park to engage students either in practicum or internships with the YMCA,” Johnson said. “I am proud to now be part of the District Board and look forward to but the opportunities the lie ahead.”

Schlieve serves as the city administrator and director of economic development for the City of Waupun. As a second-generation technical college graduate, she understands the benefits that the Wisconsin Technical College System brings to our local economy.

“My commitment to higher education formed when I watched my mother pursue her nursing degrees from Moraine Park,” Schlieve said. “Then again, as a young adult, when I graduated from MATC-Milwaukee. That was just the start of my educational journey. I truly believe that technical education is a pathway to opportunity and a strong quality of life.”

Schlieve is an active community member throughout Fond du Lac and Dodge counties. Currently, she serves as a member of the Board of Directors for Envision Greater Fond du Lac, Destination Lake Winnebago Region, and the Waupun Area Chamber of Commerce. Additionally, she serves as an adviser for the Dodge County Manufacturing Business Alliance and a business coach for the IGNITE! Network in Fond du Lac County. She previously served on the Waupun Area School District Board of Education, among other boards and committees.

“It is my strong belief in the transformative power of technical education that will help me support the advancement of Moraine Park’s mission as a member of the District Board,” Schlieve said. “From my viewpoint, the college is uniquely positioned to strengthen economic prosperity, and I am proud to commit my time to support its mission.”

Also sworn in alongside Johnson and Schlieve was Mike Schwab of Jackson, retaining his spots on the board as an elected official member, respectively. His new term will also expire in June of 2023.

Leaving the Moraine Park District Board are Lowell Prill and Cindy Laubenstein. Prill, a member since 2011, served as the Vice-Chairperson and, most recently, Secretary of the Moraine Park Technical College District Board, and member of several committees of the District Boards Association.  Laubenstein, a member since 2017, served as the Moraine Park Technical College District Board representative to the Moraine Park Foundation Board, as well as a member of the Internal Best Practices Committee of the District Boards Association. Prill and Laubenstein were honored for their service to the College at the June board meeting.

“We are grateful to both Lowell Prill and Cindy Laubenstein, for their years of loyal service, leadership, and friendship,” Bonnie Baerwald, Moraine Park president said. “They have promoted technical and adult education to meet the educational and training needs of our district, and we thank them for their commitment to Moraine Park Technical College and its communities.”

The 2019-20 District Board members for Moraine Park were also nominated into office during the meeting. The following board members will serve as officers: Bur Zeratsky, chairperson; Mike Schwab, vice-chairperson; Bob Lloyd, treasurer; Candy Fields, secretary.

For more information on Moraine Park, visit

Written by Kristina Haensgen
Marketing | Public Relations | Strategy | Communications | Professional Storyteller